THE SOUND OF (THREE-QUARTERS OF) 2010

As regular readers of this blog in it’s various incarnations will know, I like my music.

Since I started up a blog (On Bebo, in 2006) I used to list the five songs I was enjoying most that week, and then, in July, post my Top 50 of the year, and then a Top 100 in December (Usually drip fed, 20 or 25 songs at a time)

Since moving my regular blogging activity to WordPress, I have continued by having a Top 50 in July (I don’t actually do a Top 5 each week anymore) and will have a Top 100 in time for Christmas (I haven’t decided wether to dripfeed in 20 or 25 at a time)

As with tradition, they will be posted on Thursday nights. I don’t know how Thursday night became my blogging night, it just did.

So, just thought i’d share some songs i’m loving at the moment.

I know for a fact that when I had my blog on Bebo, people read it and sourced out the songs as usually within a few days of posting, they would have the video as their flashbox.

So, you can thank me in advance for introducing you to some new songs.

Ellie Goulding – The Writer

Amazing song by an amazing singer. The only one of her singles this year which comes close to matching the brilliance of her (criminally low charting) debut, ‘Under The Sheets

One Night Only – Say You Don’t Want It

Ignore the fact that Emma Watson is guesting in the video, THIS, is an amazing tune, by a band I loved back in 2008 when they released their debut single ‘Just For Tonight

A fastpaced footstomper you could just listen to on a constant loop, it makes me wish I could pick up a guitar, and write a song this good.

OMD – If You Want It

I’ve already blogged about how much I love OMD, and when you wait 14 years to release new material, it had better be worth the wait. This is, despite the fact, or perhaps because of, it sounds like ‘Wake Up‘ by Arcade Fire.

Not quite forgiven, but Andy McCusky is slightly redeemed for being the brains behind Atomic Kitten.

The Klaxons – Echoes

The Klaxons are fucking amazing. Nothing else to add really. Unlike OMD, only a 3 year wait. Worth it.

Ting Tings – Hands

You know what you get with the Ting Tings, usually songs you can dance, jog or do whatever you want to.

Silhouette – Volume Destroyed

Big shout out for a local singer with an amazing song that sounds brilliant on 1st, 2nd or 1,000th listen.

Marina and the Diamonds – Shampain

Words cannot express how much I love Marina after hearing her debut single ‘Hollywood

Saw her live at Mandela Hall this year, and she was amazing.

She’s doing a concert at the Nerve Centre next month. If you’re in the area, I suggest you go and see for yourself.

I’m in Manchester that weekend, but if I wasn’t i’d be making arrangements to be a ‘Derry Diamond’ for the night.

This song, with nods towards ‘Magic‘ by Ladyhawke and ‘Love Is A Stranger‘ by Eurythmics is the best of her releases this year.

Leave a Reply

