MANCHESTER UNITED 1-2 AJAX AMSTERDAM 23.2.2012

Was at Old Trafford last night for the UEFA Cup Last 32 tie between Manchester United and Ajax.

I’d planned on going to see United in action in Europe after Christmas, what I didn’t plan on, was that it would be in the UEFA Cup.

Interestingly, it was my 5th game attended in this competition since 2009, in comparision with 2 in the European Cup during the same time.

It was my second time seeing Ajax this month, having already seen them at the start of the month when I spent a weekend in Holland (booked long before the draw)

They were a lot better than when I saw them previously.

I flew over on the Thursday morning and spent some time in the city before heading over to Old Trafford, where I managed to get some sunset shots of the stadium.

My seat was right by the corner flag at the Stretford End, an excellent view and great for photography, except when teams were attacking that end, they always went down the other side.

United went 1-0 up early on and looked set to run away with the tie, but Ajax pulled back level before half-time.

Ajax started the second-half the better team, but didn’t go 2-1 up until the 86th minute.

The night was ending a lot more nervously than it should have been. If Ajax had scored during their early second-half dominance, it would have been a lot more nervous.

Thankfully, United held on and went through.

Amazingly, it was my 42nd game at Old Trafford, and the 1st time I saw United lose. The only other competitive defeat I saw was a 4-3 defeat against Blackburn in 2006. Add to that, a friendly defeat against an International Select at Windsor Park in 1995.

Anyway, here’s some photos.

Enjoy

2 thoughts on “MANCHESTER UNITED 1-2 AJAX AMSTERDAM 23.2.2012

  1. Pingback: PHOTO DIARY OF A FOOTBALL SEASON : FEBRUARY « Analogue Boy In A Digital World

  2. Pingback: 2012 IN PICTURES – FEBRUARY | Analogue Boy In A Digital World

Leave a Reply

