BRISTOL STREET ART MARCH 2016

I headed over to Cardiff recently for the Wales v Northern Ireland match, but also took the opportunity to spend some time in Bristol.

I’d been to Bristol before, in August 2014, but it was only a day, so I didn’t get a full chance to explore the city.

On that visit, i’d managed to get a lot of Street Art pictures, and I had previously known about Bristol’s reputation for Street Art.

As I got off my bus and headed towards my hotel, the first thing that greeted me was a mural of Wallace and Gromit.

A bit random, you may think, but not really, as Aardman Animations, who make Wallace and Gromit are based in Bristol.

After checking in, I then headed out to explore Bristol, and immediately spotted an incomplete tribute to David Bowie, inspired by the iconic cover to Aladdin Sane, and featuring the line “Put on your red shoes and dance the blues” (A lyric from Let’s Dance) and a tombstone reading 8th January 1947 (Bowie’s date of birth) and 10th January (the date he died, but not including the year of his death, 2016)

So that’s Belfast, Dublin (hoping to check that out in May as I have a day trip to Dublin planned over the second Bank Holiday weekend of the month), Bristol and Manchester who have Street Art tributes to David Bowie.

The one in Manchester is currently a work in progress. It’s in the Northern Quarter, just off Oldham Street (if you know Manchester). I’m looking forward to seeing it the next time i’m over for a match.

I then ventured into Bristol City Centre, photographing what I could see, before stumbling into Stokes Croft, a hotbed for Street Art.

I didn’t do the official tour. I usually try to avoid official tours as I like to stumble upon stuff myself, but it’s always handy to have that as a back-up option.

There is a mural of Abbe Pierre outside the office of Emmaus, the charity he helped to found.

On the Friday, I went to see Bristol Rovers play. When getting the bus back to the City Centre, I noticed some pieces on Gloucester Road, so I went back on the Saturday morning to photograph them. There are also a lot of independent and charity shops in that area, so it’s well worth visiting, not just for Street Art.

If the name Stokes Croft sounds familiar, it could be because of riots there in April 2011 after protests about Tesco opening up a store there.

There was a piece of Street Art referencing opposition to Tesco there.

Sunday was spent on the Harbourside. I wasn’t looking for Street Art, but I did manage to stumble upon some. Naturally of course, I had my camera ready to snap.

Photo Album 1

Photo Album 2

Bristol Street Art August 2014

Bristol Street Art August 2014 Photo Album

One thought on “BRISTOL STREET ART MARCH 2016

  1. Pingback: 2016 IN PICTURES – MARCH | Analogue Boy In A Digital World

Leave a Reply

