LISBURN STREET ART

Described as “The city for everything” by Christine Bleakley, Lisburn even has some Street Art for you if you’re that way inclined.

I’m going to confess something, this is a blog post that took six months to write.

Back in October last year, I was using up Annual Leave, and decided to spend a Monday morning cycling to Lisburn. I didn’t take my camera with me as I didn’t think there’d be anything worth photographing. How wrong I was.

As I headed into the City Centre, I spotted some murals on scaffolding beside R-Space Gallery on Castle Street.

I decided to wait until the next Bank Holiday to head back on my bike with a camera and get some snaps.

Days off over Christmas came, but Storm Barbara stopped me. St Patrick’s Day came, and more rain stopped me. So, Easter Monday, dry in the morning, I got out on my bike and got snapping as soon as I reached Lisburn.

The mural I saw back in October was still there. You may recognise it as being similar in style to one which appeared at City Gate Quays in Belfast after Culture Night 2015.

Beside that, was a mural of Jules Winnfield from Pulp Fiction. I think.

R-Space was closed today, but there are also some murals at the entrance of the facilities. I wasn’t able to get photos of it today as the gates were closed. If you are in Lisburn, do take a chance to check it out.

This wasn’t my first experience of Street Art in Lisburn. Back in 2013, I got a picture of this quote on a wall.

My geographic knowledge of Lisburn isn’t the best, but i’m 99.9% certain this was in Castle Street, the same street as today’s murals.

Unfortunately, it is no longer there.

Despite that, there is still some Street Art worth checking out if you are in the Lisburn area.

Photo Album

Leave a Reply

